Thursday, December 31, 2009

So many things at once!

Migosh! Is it really New Years Eve?! My winter break has gone by so fast! It started on the 21st and now, I have to go back on the 4th of January! During my break, I had two major projects to do. One for Language Arts (or English if you're picky) and the other for my Digital Photography class. I'll let you know more about them when I have more time. As far as the Holidays go, I was busy then too! On Christmas Eve, my mom and I went to my gramma's house. My dad showed up later because he had to work. Also at my gramma's were my mom's two brothers and their wives (which are my uncles and aunts).

Christmas morning, my parents and I opened the rest of our presents and our stockings.

Later that day, we went to one of my brother's apartments here where I live. At the apartment were his older brother and wife (which is my other brother and my sister-in-law) and their mom was there to. And we all found out that the brother that's married is also gonna have a kid! My sister-in-law is 8-9 weeks along, I'm gonna be an aunt when the kid is born, my dad is gonna be a grampa, and the supposed due date is my birthday! August 1st! But babies are rarely born on their due dates right? I was supposed to be born at the end of August, but I wasn't.

On Saturday, I did nothing except work on my two projects and go to Wal-Mart. I bought a new iPod when I was there. It's blue and you can listen to the radio on it. On Sunday, my parents, me, my two brothers and sister-in-law went to the movie theatre and saw 'The Blind Side'. It was so good.

On Monday, my brother and SIL took me back to the mall to get me something for Christmas. I really needed new jeans, so we had some lunch at the food court and then headed to Khols. I tried on like 6 or 7 pairs of jeans and could not find any that fit me or that I liked. So they ended up just getting me a $50 Khols Gift Card. Later that day, my brother and SIL flew back to California where they live. I really miss them during the time that they're not here.

I HOPE EVERYONE HAD A HAPPY (insert here) THIS YEAR. SAY HELLO TO 2010 IN (insert here) HOURS!

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

STARBURSTS!


This is a "magazine ad" that I made in PhotoShop at school today. Sometime last week, I had to do my product photography session. What you had to do was bring in something to take pictures of, then you had to set up a time. After you got your session scheduled, then you took the Nikon D60 camera (owned by the teacher) and took pictures of your product. You could change the fabric background, the height of the tripod, the lighting, and a bunch of other things. The product that I brought in was Starbursts, ya know, the candy? Well, I took pictures of them. When we were done, we had to create two "magazine ads": one single product, one multiple product. Keep in mind that both "ads" were on the same product. My "ad" was for a Wal-mart ad.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Cranberry-Pineapple Minis

Hey faithful readers!

Remember how I told you that I would post the recipe of the dish I made for Thanksgiving? Well, I didn't do it yesterday because I guess I forgot. But here is the recipe. And instead of putting them in mini muffin papers, my mom and I put the mix into a bowl.

Cranberry-Pineapple Minis

1 Can(20 oz.) Crushed Pineapple, in juice (brand doesn't matter)
2 pkg.(3 oz. each) JELL-O Raspberry Flavor Gelatin
1 Can(16 oz.) whole berry cranberry sauce
2/3 cup chopped Walnuts
1 Apple, chopped


DRAIN pineapple, reserving juice. Add enough water to juice to measure 2-1/2 cups; pour into saucepan. Bring to boil. Pour over gelatin mix in large bowl; stir 2 minutes until completely dissolved.

STIR in pineapple, cranberry sauce, walnuts, and apple. Spoon into 24 paper-lined muffin cups.(WE DID NOT DO THAT!!!!)

REFRIGERATE 2-1/2 hours or until firm. Remove liners.


p.s This is so good!

Friday, November 27, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving (sorry I'm late)

I just wanted to say Happy Thanksgiving! I know I'm totally late, but I was really busy yesterday! The dinner I had was amazing. And I even helped make a dish; in fact, I made the whole dish! I forgot what it's called but it's a jello something. I'll do another post tomorrow with the name and recipe!

Saturday, November 14, 2009

My Quarter Grades from School!

My school just had the ending of 1st Quarter a couple weeks ago and I got my 1st Quarter grades this Monday. I am so proud of myself! Here they are:


Science: A
Intro to Fitness: A
Honors English: B
Digital Photography 1: A
Honors World History: A
Integrated 1 (or Algebra 1): A

For being in high school, I think that these grades are pretty good!

Saturday, November 7, 2009

Flower


I made this pic in PhotoShop at school. It's originally a red flower that my mom took, but I put it in Ps and darkened the background alot. It was actually an accident but it looked really cool.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

So Sorry!

I have been so busy with my high school life that I haven't been able to finish my post about my trip to Leavenworth! I don't like all the busyness about high school, but I'll have to get used to it.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Color Carnival # 1


This is my first Color Carnival. This neat little design (I don't know if it has a name or not) that you see before you is something I drew. I learned how to draw them in my 8th grade math class. But, the circle and dots were pre-printed. So I wanted to see if I could draw it on regular graph paper. And I can! Check back HERE for more colorful photos!

Enjoy your day!

Monday, October 12, 2009

Writings 16, 17, 18, 19, & 20

Here are some more short writings from my little writing book!:


#16- Life- 1/27/07
What do you like better: How you treat your life, or how it treats you? It’s your choice.
Age: 11

#17- Family- 7/13/07
Sunsets bring you peace. Ocean waves bring you comfort. But, what does family bring? Family brings you infinite happiness.
Age: 11

#18- When it’s Raining- 12/23/07
When it’s raining outside it’s like the clouds are crying. The clouds could be crying for something lost or something gained. The clouds could be crying for any reason really. But, when they’re crying everybody will know it for they can see the tears falling.
Age: 12

#19- Good Choices- 1/17/08
Always make good choices in life. If you don’t, the bad choices may haunt you for the rest of your life.
Age: 12

#20- Sunshine- 1/20/08
The rays of the sunshine give you warmth and happiness. Even right down to the depths of your darkest days.
Age: 12

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

My Strong Old Life

I wrote this short story Sunday night.

My Strong Old Life
September 28, 2009
Age: 14


Many years ago, my siblings and I were born. There were three of us. I’m old now, but here’s my life story: I was the runt between my siblings and I. They were worried about me. I couldn’t eat or drink. But I proved them wrong. I eventually started to grow, and I got taller than them. I grew and grew and grew. One year when I was in my adolescent years, some men came and took one of my siblings away from me. I flailed my arms and screamed for them to not take her away. But the men didn’t listen. The next day, the dreadful men came back, and they took my other sibling away from me. I knew they wouldn’t stop, so I didn’t even try to stop them. I was afraid that they would come back for me, but they didn’t. But I didn’t let my siblings departures keep me tied down either. I continued to grow, and I admit, I did grow a lot rounder. I continued to soar to great heights. When I grew as tall as I could, I watched over my neighborhood. My home for as long as I live. I still live there. And I’ll continue to keep watch. As long as my strong old life lets me.

* I was inspired to write this after I read an article about California’s Redwood Forests. *

Thursday, September 24, 2009

Urban Ink Poster


This is another poster that I designed on PhotoShop. It's a picture I took of my own feet on the track at school. I also used another free tutorial to make it. It was a lot simpler than my first poster.

I also completed my Digital Photo Pass. It looks awesome but I'm not able to post that, so here's the poster. Enjoy it and let me know what you think!

Friday, September 18, 2009

Design a Contemporary Poster


I did this in Digital Photography. DP is a class that I have at school. And we do all kinds of stuff with pictures. Sometime last week, we started this project and I finished it today. If you have PhotoShop, then you can do this. Here's what you do:

1: Go to Google
2: Type in Photoshop Tutorial
3: Click on the second entry
4: Scroll down & click on Page 2
5: Click on Design a Contemporary Poster and follow the instructions

Here's what I came up with! Our PhotoShop at school didn't have some of the brushes, so I improvised! Also, my computer wouldn't let me do a lens flare, so I improvised there too!

Let me know what you think!

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Don't know what

I've kinda run out of stuff to blog about. It's always been easy, but I don't know why it's not easy right now. I assure you that in a few days, I will have something new to write.

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Flying

Yesterday when I was in my school library, I wrote a poem. I titled it flying and I have no idea why. That usually happens a lot.

Flying
August 31st, 2009
Age: 14


Flying is fun, it’s the only time when I’ve felt like I’ve won.

Being so high in the sky, feeling as if the worries will just pass me by.

No worries to tie me down, not wanting to be back on the ground.

Passing by the clouds so smooth and white, but don’t worry they don’t bite!

The light cast upon me feels so warm, I never feel the coming storm.

What I know is that there’s nothing to fear, but my life is the one I should steer.

So yeah flying is fun, it’s the only time when I’ve felt like I’ve won.


P.S. Tell me what you think!

Monday, August 31, 2009

More about my school

In my recent post, I wrote that I started high school. Well, It's my third day of school, and I think I'm doing pretty good. There are some things that I didn't mention earlier, so I'll describe them now. I have a special class (everyone does) called POD'S. It is a class of about 15 to 20 kids and you talk about what you want to be when you grow up. Career choices and stuff like that. You also talk about your senior culminating project. The teacher you have when your a freshman is the same teacher you have for all four years. Here's some more stuff you didn't know. I have four different schedules.

The first one is called a Plaid Day. They are on Mondays and you have all six classes. The second one is called a Green Day. On those days, you only have periods 1, 3, and 5. You have those Green Days on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The third one is called a Gold Day. And you have periods 2, 4, and 6. Those days are Wednesdays and Fridays. The last schedule is called a Plaid/POD Day. You have all your classes PLUS your POD class. And you have your POD class between your 2nd and 3rd periods.

There is something called Student Access Time where you can come in early and get help on stuff or you can just kill some time in the library. But, I'll use it for help. You can go in from 7:35am to 8:15am on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Also, I have different school starting times. Every Monday is 8:30am and Tuesday through Friday is 8:20am. That's a lot of info to remember isn't it?! Well, try being me and having to go through all these different times!

Thursday, August 27, 2009

I'm as ready as I'll ever be

Today was my first day of high school. It was really difficult finding my classes because almost half of it is under construction. The other half is complete. There are three floors in my new school. And I'm totally not used to that yet. The lunch is okay. I had pizza today. During the middle of our schedules, we had an assembly and all grades were in the gym. The gym is really beautiful because it's brand new. There are also new rooms that look amazing but some of them have a funny smell. My first period is science, just plain 9th grade science and it is in a building that's separate from the main school. It's called the Field School, but the students and staff call it the 'Annex'. My second period is Introductory to Fitness in the gym. My third period is English 9A Honors. My fourth period is Digital Photography 1. And then I have lunch. My fifth period is 9 World History A Honors. And my sixth period is Integrated Math 1A. In that class we have to have a really big calculator and it's called TI-84. I will have more to talk about tomorrow when my brain isn't so full of stuff.

P.S. I did okay for my first day of school. I was a little tired, but I got woken up a bit. Other than getting lost, I think did okay!

Sunday, August 23, 2009

I got a haircut!


I bet that doesn't sound very exciting to all of you, but it does to me! When I got my perm in December of '08, I was happy to have curly hair. But then it started growing out and I had like two inches of straight and then the rest was curly. I became tired with it and I wanted something new. And that's exactly what I got. During last Thursday, I finally got my hair cut. I was so excited to finally get some of my mane cut off. The lady who did it, did a very nice job. I donated my hair for the third time when I got my hair cut. They only need six inches at the minimum and all the donated hair makes wigs for children with cancer. This organization is called Pink Heart Funds and you can go HERE for more information. I got a lot of my perm taken out, but what's left looks more natural. The pictures above are a before shot and an after shot!

Wednesday, August 19, 2009

The Narrator

This is a story that I wrote in a day. It didn't take very long for me to do it because most of my stories don't need a lot of editing and revising. This one only needed a few tweaks. Enjoy!:

The Narrator
August 19, 2009
Age: 14

The Narrator. Yes, that’s what they call me. The Narrator this and The Narrator that. Now I know that some of you might (or must) ask me, is this: Who is they? That’s a good question. A very good one indeed. Now to answer your question. The answer is everyone, for everyone is they. Children, adults, authors. Old wrinkly men like me. It’s simple. Everyone is they. But let’s not dwell on the fact. The real reason why I’m finally speaking up by my own accord is because I’m sick and tired of people always calling me The Narrator. Just like I mentioned a little while back. You know, Narrators have feelings too. Sometimes I would like to be called a Wordweaver. For surly I can weave words, just like others can weave thread? Or sometimes I would like to be called a Teller. Because don’t all Narrators tell the stories to the listeners? So do they call me the names that I truly desire to be called? No they do not. So I am still called The Narrator. And that’s why I’ve stopped telling stories because no one will listen to me or my heart. I will not say another peep. You won’t hear my voice ever again. I’m going dormant like a volcano. What’s that? Did I just hear a peep from one of my dear listeners? Yes I did. Speak louder sweetling. Oh. You just called me Wordweaver. My heart has swelled with joy and just might burst with it. Oh I thank you to the utmost. You don’t know what that word means? Ah well, never mind that. My body is just tingling with pride and warmth all over. You want to hear a story now do you? Well all right. Only because you called me Wordweaver. Now to begin the story; it’s the one I tell most often. I’m starting now dear listeners. A long time ago a young boy sat on the edge of his porch steps. He was only five or six and did not own very much. His family was large and poor. Most of the older children did not reach high school. This little boy loved to think and read and write. He couldn’t do it very well but he loved it. As the little boy got older and older, his reading and writing skills improved greatly and soon that was all he did. Everyone scorned him and told him he was nothing. This boy was a man when he wrote his first short story and the village where he still lived at the time loved it. They loved it even more when the man himself read it out loud. It was like music to their ears. The rises and falls of his voice transfixed all of them to the spot wherever they were standing. As the man aged, he continued to read and write his own short stories. People soon started to apologize for the way they acted all those years ago. The man accepted them and continued his passion. At the age where the bones start to creak and the skin gets all wrinkly, the man still wrote and read things. He still read out loud and it still transfixed people to the spot. Although the man is old, he has not died yet and he still loves what he does. I know that most of you are thinking the same thing by the baffled expression on your faces even though I can tell that some of you have figured it out by now. Yes, I am right. You are thinking the same thing: Who is this story about? I shall clarify that shortly. The boy, the man, and the older man are the same person. And I am that person. Ah yes. Your faces clear up after I told you who this story is about, but no worries. You did enjoy the story? Right?

Monday, August 17, 2009

I had so much fun!

If you read my blog recently, then you know that I went on vacation. I went to Manzanita, Oregon...and I had a blast. We went to so many places. First of all, the time to check in to the hotel wasn't until 3:00pm, so we had some time to kill. We had to pass through Astoria and Seaside to get to Cannon Beach. Which is where we stopped to kill the time. What I find totally funny is that Cannon Beach is split up into three parts. One is where all the shops are. Another one is where the restaurants are. And the last one is what I call 'Midtown'. But that's not the right order. I forgot what the right one is. Our first night in we went back to Cannon Beach for dinner. We went to a restaurant called Mo's. I love it there because no matter where you sit, you can see the ocean! On Tuesday, we went to a place called Nehalem Bay State Park. We had some time left that day, so we went to Tillamook. They sell cheese, ice cream, and meat at their factory. It's really cool there. On Wednesday, we went back to Cannon Beach to do some more shopping. We got saltwater taffy. And boy is that stuff good. Back at the hotel in Manzanita, we watched a DVD. It was 'Gran Torino'(with Clint Eastwood in it) and it was a good movie but had a sad ending. For dinner that night, we went to a nice restaurant in Cannon Beach for my parents anniversary. On Thursday, our very last day, we went to Hug Point and Arcadia Beach. It did not rain at all on Thursday. Later during the day, close to six, we went out to the beach and had a beach fire. We roasted marshmallows. Mmmmmmmmmmm! We didn't have smores but roasted marshmallows was good enough. On Friday, we got up early and headed out to go home. I had so much fun over there. And sometimes, I even wish I could live there! But I don't know if I would be able to handle the rain and constant moisture

Saturday, August 8, 2009

My Vacation!!!!


(This is a picture of Manzanita, Oregon!) Hello all! Tomorrow, I will be leaving around 6am from my house to go on vacation! My family and I will be heading to Lacey, Washington to spend a night there. We will be visiting my dad's uncle. After spending a night there, we'll head down to Manzanita, Oregon. That's where our hotel is. We will be going to Cannon Beach, Oregon as well as Tillamook, Oregon. I haven't been on the coast in over 2 years! I love going there. One of our favorite dinner places is Mo's Restaurant in Cannon Beach! I will be back Friday late in the afternoon. My parents will be spending their anniversary while on vacation. It will be their 26th wedding anniversary!

Thursday, August 6, 2009

My b-day presents from family!

I got a lot of presents from family. From my brother, I got a gift card to Barnes n' Noble. And from his mom, I got thirty bucks. From my own parents, I got two picture frames, two hanging things with my name on it, and one of the Miley Cyrus/Max Azria shirts. My mom got it at Wal-mart. Some other presents that I got were from my Aunt D and Uncle C. If you read this, I thank you very much!

Sunday, August 2, 2009

My Birthday (Pt. 2)


(The picture here is of my friends and I at dinner!) Today is the second part of my b-day! Last night, it was for friends. And it was fun! As you read in the post before, my mom let me invite 2 friends to take to dinner. So, I invited 2 friends and we went to dinner. It was awesome to watch the chefs make the food in front of you! They are so fast! From one friend, I got a 15.00 gift card to iTunes and a box of Mike n' Ikes. (From her mother, I got a miniature horse statue.) And from the other friend, I got a book, the Twilight Original Soundtrack, a 4 pin Bad Vamp set (Twilight), some Twilight themed Sweethearts (Ya know, they have words on them), and I guess that was it for friends presents. I love those two girls!

As for today, one of my brothers is coming over with his mother. We're going to have carrot cake and vanilla ice cream. And I'm going to open presents from my family!

Saturday, August 1, 2009

Yahoo! Coolio! Alright! Yay! (Birthday Pt.1)

I'm so excited today. It's my birthday! I am turning 14 years old! Later tonight I am going to a restaurant with my parents and two friends. It's one of those places where they make the food in front of you. It's like Chinese food or something. I can't believe I'm 14! I've been waiting for ever. A couple of weeks ago, I went to a friends birthday, and I was the youngest. Out of all my friends in the same grade, (I have a couple of friends in lower grades), I'll always be the youngest! But on my birthday, I will always pretend that I'm older than everybody! HaHa!

Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Another Cool Author

I recently finished a five book series by an author named: Lloyd Alexander. He is amazing. The series that I just finished is called Chronicles of Prydain. It's really cool and I think it's fantasy. But I don't know. He started writing this particular series in 1964 and continued all the way to 1968. I don't have much to say about him other than he's a pretty neat author. If anyone is interested, they should read these books!

Friday, July 24, 2009

My writings 13 & 14

Here they are!:

#13- Matter- 4/12/05
It doesn’t matter what other people think of you, it just matters what you think of yourself.
Age: 9

#14- Who?- 9/20/05
They love you when your playing, they love you when your thinking, they love you when have friends, they love you when you love your parents. Who are they? They are angels.
Age: 10

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

I discovered a new author!

Well, I didn't discover him, but I discovered his books. His name is Sebastian Rook and he's an amazing author. I'm not sure what the trilogy is called, but the first book is called= The Vampire Plagues: London 1850. The second book is called= The Vampire Plagues: Paris. I'm not sure about the third book. I've only read the first book and it's extremely good. It's very well written. It's brilliant. I'm not sure if he's written any other books before though.

Friday, July 17, 2009

Summer is going by to fast

It is. I love summer, but at the same time, I hate it. The reason I love it is because I get to spend time with friends and go on vacations and stuff. The reason I hate it is because I start Highschool on August 27th. That's a little over a month away! My mom says I act like this every summer. But, I don't believe her. But this summer it's different because I don't want to start Highschool. I don't want to be a Freshman!

Monday, July 13, 2009

Day 6: June 22 , 2009

- Day 6: June 22 , 2009
2:16 p.m- Today's the last day. We just back from Chinatown. I hate it there. First we had breakfast, and then we went to Chinatown. We are now in the bus heading towards the Newark Airport to catch our flight!

Friday, July 10, 2009

Day 5: June 21 , 2009

-Day 5: June 21 , 2009 (Father's Day)
9:26 a.m- I didn't eat breakfast today. I don't know why. I saw TimesSquare yesterday. I also saw the Good Morning America station. I also saw Mary Poppins on Broadway last night. Today though, I'm seeing the Statue of Liberty, taking a tour of the NBC Studios, and seeing the Blue Man Group. I'm so excited!
11:11 p.m- The BMG was awesome! I don't even know how to describe it! I forgot to say something about yesterday. I saw Ground Zero.

Wednesday, July 8, 2009

Day 4: June 20 , 2009

-Day 4: June 20 , 2009
8:44 a.m- I didn't eat much breakfast. I don't feel very good. Last night, we had pizza for dinner and then went to the Empire State Building. When we were done with that, we went to the hotel/motel. I took a shower to wash my hair. It felt so good. My friend blow-dried it for me. When I finally went to bed, I got four hours of sleep. When I woke up this morning, I brushed my teeth, and waited for the same friend to straighten my hair for tonight's Broadway play. It worked okay. My hair is so thick and long. I also heard it was supposed to rain, so the day that I get my hair done, the weather is crap. I also don't have any make-up to wear. It sucks. By the way, the play that I'm seeing is Mary Poppins. I wanted to see Phantom of the Opera. But no, it had to be this!

Monday, July 6, 2009

Day 3: June 19, 2009

-Day 3: June 19, 2009
12:15 p.m- I had breakfast this morning. I saw the IwoJima Memorial and after that the Washington State group took an inside tour of the Capitol Building. We are now on the bus waiting, and we're heading to New York City in a few minutes! I'm excited! But, it's a five. Hour. Drive.

Saturday, July 4, 2009

Independence Day

Hello anybody and everybody. Today is July 4th, and a reason to be proud. On this day in 1776, fifty-six different men signed the Declaration of Independence. This document stated our freedom from Britain. My favorite fact about the DOI is that John Hancock, the president of all this, signed his name the largest because he wanted everyone in the world to see it. Today for the 4th, my parents and I are going down to the river to watch the fireworks. We take pop, licorice, and onion popcorn. That stuff is the best. My mom pops a lot of popcorn, puts it in a bag, puts butter on the popcorn, and shakes it up. Then, she takes dry Lipton Onion soup mix and puts it on the popcorn and shakes that all up. And what do you get? Onion popcorn! But, before we leave, my dad and I are going to set up the tent in the backyard. We are going to have a backyard camping trip! Doesn't that sound exciting?! Feel free to comment and say what you're going to do on this holiday!

Friday, July 3, 2009

Day 2: June 18, 2009

-Day 2: June 18, 2009
6:35 a.m- Just got up at six am. I am still groggy. We have to eat breakfast at 7 am and be on the bus by 8:15 am. I know for sure that we are going to the National Archives. If the line isn't too long!
1:25 p.m- Had lunch. Pizza and potato chips. We went to the Whitehouse and took pics. After that we went to the Holocaust Museum. I don't like that place. It's creepy. Later we're going to Arlington National Cemetery and Mt. Vernon, which is in Alexandria. George Washington lived there! For dinner it's going to be a waterfront gourmet. How fun! I know we're getting back to the hotel late tonight again. Oh. My. Gawd.
8:19 p.m- Just got back from the Ghost Tour. I'm in the bus. The time spent at the places I mentioned previously was fun, but truthfully, dinner was the best part. We never did go to the National Archives. But that was okay. If we can't, we can't. We are going back to the hotel. Possibly. I won't write anymore tonight.

Thursday, July 2, 2009

Day 1: June 17, 2009

-Day 1: June 17, 2009

9:53 a.m- Just had breakfast. The alarm woke us up at 7:15 a.m. We all got ready and took our stuff to the lobby. I'm here now and we're getting ready to rock and roll!

6:07 p.m- At dinner. Hungry, tired, and sore. I went to four or five museums!: The Newseum, Air and Space Museum, The Museum of Natural History, The Museum of American History, and the Natural Museum of Art. We will get to the hotel at 11:00 p.m or so. Two other groups, one from Oregon and one from Colorado, have joined ours. Later tonight we will have a guided sightseeing of all the different monuments at night! Fun!

10:32 p.m- Good grief! I am tired and kind of shaky. My feet have fallen off. I have no feeling! I visited four separate monuments: WWII Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, and the Korean Memorial. It was fun and I took a lot of pics. I also got post-cards to send to people! I'm at the hotel right now. It's in Maryland somewhere. I don't know what's in store for tomorrow, but oh well!

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

My Journey- Day 0

This is the beginning of my journal:

-Day 0: Tuesday June 16, 2009

All Day: Came to school for like an hour. I then proceeded to the airport. It took us awhile to get on the plane. The turbulence was okay. The first plane only took an hour or so. But, the second plane took three hours or so. After that when the plane landed, we got our crap and headed out the door at the Dulles Airport. We took two taxis to get to the airport. Four of us were in one taxi, and the other 4 were in the second taxi. When us girls got to our room, we got ready for bed to crash. But our neighbors kept calling and knocking on our door. They even slipped a note under our door! Can you believe that?! But, my friends and I eventually all fell asleep.

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

So Sorry!

I'm sorry everyone! I promised myself that I would write everyday in my journal for this blog of mine. I did write everyday, but I've been forgetting to actually put it on here. I haven't really been that busy, but somehow the time slips just slips away. But you don't have to wait any longer because I will be putting it on tomorrow!

Tuesday, June 23, 2009

My blog anniversary/birthday

Because I was on my trip, I missed my blog anniversary. It was on the 19th of June. But That's okay. I'm just happy that my blog is now a year old!

Sunday, June 14, 2009

My tour Itinerary! For Washington DC and New York City

Here is my tour Itinerary!:

Day 0: Tuesday, June 16, 2009
.Depart for Washington DC
.Transfer to hotel using airport shuttle

Day 1: Wednesday, June 17, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Transfer into DC
.Smithsonian museum complex
.Free time in DC
.Dinner at Union Station
.Guided sightseeing of DC memorials and monuments

Day 2: Thursday, June 18, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Guided sightseeing of DC with licensed local guide
.Arlington National Cemetery
.Photo Stop at White House
.Mount Vernon excursion
.Dinner in Alexandria: Waterfront Gourmet
.Legends of Alexandria walking ghost tour

Day 3: Friday, June 19, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Visit to Capitol Hill
.Outside walking tour of US Capitol, Library of Congress, & Supreme Court
.National Archives
.Continue on to New York City
.Dinner in NYC: Mariella's Pizza
.Empire State Building
.Go to hotel

Day 4: Saturday, June 20, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Guided sightseeing on NY with licensed local guide
.Visit Metropolitan Museum of Art
.Dinner Midtown NYC Theater Night: Variety Cafe
.Broadway evening performance- Mary Poppins

Day 5: Sunday, June 21, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Statue if Liberty & Ellis Island
.NBC Studios Tour
.Dinner in Times Square: The Palace Restaurant
.Blue Man Group (Booked on own)

Day 6: Monday, June 22, 2009
.Breakfast at hotel
.Free time for shopping
.Depart for home

Friday, June 12, 2009

Happy Birthday Mother Dear

It's my mom's birthday today. But, I never said anything to her this morning. I was such a jerk. I remembered at school. Of course, it's a time when I don't see her. I made a mental note to remind myself to tell her after school. Yet again, my mental notes have failed me. I had yearbook signing, and I was so excited and caught up in other stuff, that I forgot. So, Happy Birthday MOMMY! I LOVE U! And I'm SO SORRY!

-Your Daughter-

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

What Life should be, but Isn't

This is a story I wrote on Sunday night. These are just my opinions, so don't feel offended.


Life should be full of happiness, love, good food, jewelry, good surprises, family.
Life should be full of triumph, good fortune, luck, friends, treasures, peace.
Life should be full of laughter, dreams, natural beauty, brilliance, fun, no worries.
Life should be full of health care for everyone, soul mates, fantasy, solitude, focus points, necessary alone time, warmth.
Life should be full of vital moments, family history, important times together, strength, influential people.

But, that’s not what life is.

Life is full of war, divorce, hard times, recessions, bailouts, plans that won’t work.
Life is full of fear, drugs, alcohol, murders, suicides, homicides.
Life is full of lies, deceit, horror, trust issues, hunger, and homeless people.
Life is full of pollution, torture, terrorism, violent memories, no money.
Life is full of litter, cartels, gangs, fatal accidents, kidnappings, wounds that can’t heal.


But, that’s not my life. My life isn’t going to be like that. I want my life to be full of good things. I will do anything. And if I have to fight like hell, with my heart, to do that, then I will.

Monday, June 1, 2009

Guest Author Day

This piece of writing was written by a dear friend of mine and I really enjoyed it. She gave this piece of writing to every one of her girlfriends. You know, friends that are girls. She didn't title it so I don't know what to call it. Oh yeah, she doesn't know I'm putting this on here. So here goes!

Girls are like apples on trees. The best ones are at the top of the tree. The boys don't want to reach for the good ones because they are afraid of falling and getting hurt. Instead, they just get the rotten apples that aren't as good, but easy. So the apples at the top think something is wrong with them, when in reality, they're amazing. They just have to wait for the right boy to come along, the one who's brave enough to climb all the way to the top of the tree.

Well, what do you think? Let me know.

Thursday, May 28, 2009

The Demons in my Head

This is a poem that I wrote just last night. It's about the hardships that the soldiers go through in Iraq. I don't want to make anyone upset by this poem. If you are, I'm truly sorry.

The demons are in my head.

The alcohol, burning as it goes down my throat.

The hallucinations are in front of me.

It’s how I cope with them. The demons of course.

I can’t help it.

I’ve seen things.

I’ve heard things.

I’ve done things.

I can’t stop it. They keep coming.

They will always be there.

I can’t hide it.

I’ve tried to get help.

It doesn’t work.

They’re too strong.

They’re not humans or ghosts.

They’re memories.

Of my time in Iraq.

And it’s hell.

Monday, May 25, 2009

Memorial Day Thoughts


First of all, I'm going to start of by saying: I have no school today! Okay, time to be more somber. Today's Memorial Day and that can mean a whole lot. It could be sad for some, and happy for others who are on vacation. But, for me, it was a time to be serious. Yesterday, on Sunday, my parents and I went to the Cemetery, where my mom's grandparents and step-dad are buried. I took a picture of these flags at an angle so I could see most of them. I didn't know my camera had a fast shutter speed until I looked under my BestShot selections. That's what I used to capture this pic because it was a little windy!

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Multi-Cultural Week- Friday

I had to much stuff going on to write last night. For the last day of MCW, we had to wear a color that matched our team. I'm on HOME Team, so I could have worn red, my team color. But, each member on HOME Team had their own shirt to wear. We also had an assembly. It was the most funnest thing that I've ever seen or been to! There were singers from the High-School, the group called Celtic Nots, and a fellow student of mine and his teacher performed some Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu moves. It was amazing!

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Multi-Cultural Week- Wednesday & Thursday

Forgot to write yesterday, I had too much homework. Yesterday for MCW, we had to wear something representing the state we live in. So, I wore my shirt that I got from Seattle. Today however, we had to wear our school colors. Gold and blue. I don't have any gold, so I just wore a yellow shirt and blue jeans!

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Multi-Cultural Week- Tuesday

Today for MCW, we had to wear red, white, and blue stuff. So I did. My shirt has a bird and the words "Forever Freedom" on it. And it has stars too!

Monday, May 11, 2009

Multi-Cultural Week- Monday

Yep, today was the start of Multi-Cultural Week. We had to color that sticky piece of paper with our nationality on it. I put the sticker on my shirt! As I wrote before, I'm Italian, so I used green, white, and red. Later today, my friends were saying that Irish is better than Italian, but what's funny is that one of them is more Italian than Irish, so he was dissing himself!

Friday, May 8, 2009

Multi-Cultural Week

Starting next Monday, my school is having a Multi-Cultural week. On Monday, in 1st period, everybody is going to get a piece of paper that is sticky. On that piece of paper, we have to color it with the flag colors that represents our culture. I'm Italian, so I would use the colors red, white, and green. I just don't know the order. And then on Friday of that week, we are going to have an assembly about all the different cultures and stuff. It's going to be fun!!!!

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Review Time

Okay, be honest. I want you to truthfully tell me if you liked my story, The Goodbye Letter. I want constructive criticism. And if you have nothing nice to say, don't say it at all!


P.s. Happy May 5th! CDM!

Monday, May 4, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 6 (Last Part)

Aly heard a yawn behind her and turned to see Rosalie’s eyes open. She ran over to her sister. Aly didn’t know what to say, so she just put her hand in Rose’s. Tears were running down both of their faces. Aly was about to speak, when Dr. Gates came in with the food. He brought it over and set it on the table. Aly looked in the bag and saw most of her favorite foods. Aly started tearing into the food.

After what seemed like endless hours of eating, Aly settled back into the chair with a sigh. She closed her eyes, and asked Rosalie what had happened. Rosalie started telling Aly what had happened to her. Aly settled into the chair more comfortably, while Rose told her story. This is a story I’ll never forget, Aly told herself. And with that thought, she concentrated on emptying her mind and concentrated on letting Rosalie’s voice create a picture in her head.

Sunday, May 3, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 5

When Aly came out of the bathroom, she went to her backpack and got out her favorite book and her iPod. She sat down on the chair beside Rosalie. Aly found one of her favorite bands, Metro Station, and started playing those songs. She soon found it hard to concentrate on her book. She put the book in the chair and started dancing. She was so engrossed in the song “Shake It”, that she didn’t hear Dr. Gates come in. The song ended and Aly heard clapping.

She whirled around so fast, she nearly fell. Aly saw Dr. Gates leaning up against the door with a big smile on his face. Aly turned her iPod off and put it in her backpack. Dr. Gates walked into the room and started checking Rosalie’s I.V’s. Aly had a question that was bugging her. “Dr. Gates, how long was I asleep?” Dr. Gates looked at Aly and chuckled. “Aly, you were asleep for two and a half days. You fell asleep late Friday night.” Aly did the math in her head. Her eyes bugged out. It all came out in rush.

“So, I fell asleep late Friday night, and slept for two and a half days. Oh no! It’s Monday afternoon! I have to get to school!” Aly started gathering her things. She felt Dr. Gates’ hands on her shoulders. “Aly! It’s okay. I called your school and talked to your principal. He understands. You don’t have to go to school for awhile. Oh yea. I’m bringing you some food. It’s not hospital food, and I suspect your starving.” As if in agreement, Aly’s stomach let out a loud rumble. Dr. Gates laughed and left the room.

Saturday, May 2, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 4

Aly carefully folded the letter and placed it into Rosalie’s hands. Aly heard soft footsteps behind her and whirled around. She was face to face with her mother. She had tears glistening in her eyes. With a jolt that made Aly’s heart pound and her head spin, she realized that her mother had heard the entire contents of the letter. Aly walked over to her mom and embraced her.

Later that night, Aly fell asleep outside the hospital room slumped against the wall. Around midnight, Aly felt a light tapping on her shoulder. She opened her eyes drowsily. She peered into the darkness and saw Dr. Gates looming over her.” Good morning Doc. What can I do for you?” she said, sleep slurring her words. Dr. Gates chuckled softly. “Actually, Aly there’s nothing you can do for me. But, I need to tell you something. Your sister is awake.” She leaned her head back against the wall and mumbled, “Oh. That’s nice. Rose is awake”

Dr. Gates almost laughed. Aly was so tired, she didn’t even comprehend the fact that her sister just came out of her coma. He started counting to sixty. When he got to fifty-nine, Aly’s eyes flashed open. She looked at Dr. Gates with a wild gleam in her eyes. Aly leaped up, but would have fallen, if the doctor hadn’t caught her. He helped her Aly get to Rosalie’s bedside. He whispered into Aly’s ear, “Rose is asleep now, but she’ll be awake in the morning, I promise you. The bed next to hers is empty. I want you to get more sleep. You look dead on your feet.”

Aly’s initial high was wearing off and she was becoming extremely tired again. She let Dr. Gates guide her to the bed. Once her head hit the pillow, she was asleep again. She slept so soundly and deeply, that it was two and a half days before she woke again. Aly stretched in a long luxurious stretch and gave a deep yawn. She got out of the bed and went to the bathroom.

Friday, May 1, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 3

Dr. Gates left, leaving Aly with Rosalie. Aly felt terrible. She should have been in the ambulance with her sister. Aly got up from her place beside Rosalie, and went to her binder. She grabbed a pencil and a piece of paper and sat down again.

Aly decided to write a letter to her sister. For the next couple of hours, Aly thought hard about what she was going to write. Once she had a good idea about her writing, she wrote with feeling. More than once, when Aly was working on her letter, nurses came in and checked Rosalie’s IV’s.

When Aly finished her letter, she read it more than once to make sure it was perfect. Aly checked outside the hospital room to make sure no one was listening. She cleared her throat and started reading the letter to Rosalie.

“Dear Rosalie,

I don’t know if this is goodbye or hello. I’m expecting the best, but preparing for the worst. If this is goodbye, then it’s goodbye. I’ll let you go with ease, without pain. I will be sad to let you go, but I won’t grieve. I will take care of myself as well as mom. I promise you that, Rosalie. If this is hello, then it’s hello. When you come home, I’ll help you, even if it makes me sick. I’ll be your perfect little sister if it makes you happy. I’ll do anything you want me to. Just let me know, Rose. Just let me know. I want to make you happy. I love you, Rosalie. I always will. I’m expecting to see your smiling face soon. I love you.”

Thursday, April 30, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 2

Aly’s mom came rushing up to her with tears running down her face. “Aly, something’s happened to Rosalie! I can’t tell you the details now, but you’ll find out soon enough. Lets go, she’s at the hospital.” The word ‘hospital’ sent Aly’s mind spinning. She became dizzy.


The ride to the hospital was silent. Each person thinking of Rosalie. Rosalie never got punched this morning! Thought Aly, she was in an accident of some kind! When Aly and her mom got to the hospital, they rushed to Rosalie’s room, but as they were about to go in, they were intercepted by a young doctor.


“I’m so sorry Mrs. Croft, but during the time you were getting Aly, Rosalie slipped into a coma.” Aly gasped, and with the ground swaying beneath her, she staggered to her sister’s bedside. She tried to fight the tears, but they were to strong for her. While they streamed down her face, she screamed silently to God. Why did you do this to her?! Why? She’s my sister!


Soft light footsteps sounded behind Aly. She turned around and saw the doctor. “Aly,” he said “I’m so sorry. We did everything we could.” Aly looked at Dr. Gates, and saw that his eyes were sympathetic. “I know you did your best Dr. Gates. I just wish I could have been with her. “

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

The Goodbye Letter: Part 1

This is a story that I wrote. It's sort of sad but it has a happy ending!

Aly and her two best friends, Kiera and Julie, were walking in a leisurely pace on their way to school. They were listening to their favorite song, Love Story, on each of their Ipods. Julie glanced at her watch and saw that they had only ten minutes to get to school.

"Oh no! We’re late. Come on!”


All three girls gradually picked up speed, until they were running at top speed. Within three minutes, Aly, Kiera, and Julie were on school grounds heading towards their line. As the girls were talking, Aly doubled over and let out a moan.


Julie and Kiera gathered around Aly. “It’s my sister!” She gasped, trying to force the words out. “She’s hurt, I l know she is.”


Julie and Kiera knelt down in concern. “Aly, are you okay?!” asked Julie, her voice shaking.


“I’m fine guys. I think Rosalie must have gotten punched in the gut or something!” She laughed weakly. Her older sister, Rosalie, was in high school and could get a little over-protective about Aly. Julie and Kiera helped Aly up and they went inside.


Through-out the morning, Aly continued her routine as usual. As Aly settled down in her seat for her third class, her teacher came to her desk and whispered urgently. “Aly, take your stuff and head to the office. Your mom’s here to pick you up.” Confused, Aly got up, grabbed her stuff, and headed to the office.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

History Essay Update

I just turned my Civil War essay in today. My teacher created three piles:

1= Papers he WILL NOT except

2= Papers he WILL except

3= Indecisive

My paper made it onto the Second Pile! I am so happy!

Sunday, April 26, 2009

My History Essay on the Civil War

My latest History Essay is about the Civil War. We had 15 prompts to choose from. I chose the one that said I had to create dialogue that was being said between a person in the North and a person in the South. I really like mine. I have some twists and an epilogue. Well, here it is:


The night slowly started to come to a close. The sun settled on the horizon, letting its bloody fingers linger in the sky. The sun then settled deeper into the sky, making the bugs start to go away. The trees were creating large shadows. Unaware of their surroundings, two men sat huddled close together deep in conversation about a very important issue that was raging between the North and South: The issue of Slavery.

“I understand big brother, that you are a plantation owner and need slaves to pick the cotton for you. You treat them like nothing!” He was so furious that some spit came flying out of his mouth. Anthony Sullivan started to calm down. He sighed. His older brother, John Sullivan, lived in the South running a plantation. Anthony lived in the North and was secretly an abolitionist helping to free the slaves. John didn’t know.

Anthony spoke again. “Okay, John. Tell me. What do you think of all this slavery?”

John hesitated. “Well, we have a whole hell of a lot more Cotton Production than you guys in the North, so we have a use for the slaves, to pick the cotton for us.” He paused to take a sip of his whiskey.

“Also, if you try to tell a Southerner he can’t own slaves, he’ll get angry.” John smiled a devilish smile.

Anthony inhaled and exhaled sharply. “You mean to tell me that you’re secretly an abolitionist posing as a plantation owner?!”

John chuckled. He never told his brother. “Yes baby brother. I am. I never told you because I never really thought about it.”

Anthony was silent for awhile. He knew his brother was secretive, but not this secretive. He decided to tell John his own secret. “Well, my brother my friend, I’m secretly an abolitionist too.”

Now it was John’s turn to be quiet. His younger brother was never like this. This was totally unexpected.

Anthony didn’t wait for a response. “You know John, we could work together. But, it would be extremely dangerous.” His usually child-like eyes were now oddly serious.

John thought hard about it. He agreed it be dangerous. But, he also agreed to help his brother.

The two men continued their conservation deep into the night and early morning. When neither man could get any more input into the conversation because the other kept interrupting, they stopped talking, stood up, and embraced in a brotherly hug.

EPILOGUE

Ten years have past since that meeting between Anthony and John Sullivan. Between the two men, they have freed over 215 slaves by using the Underground Railroad. Anthony Sullivan still lives in the North as an abolitionist. But, only a few select people know that. His older brother, John Sullivan, still resides in the South running a plantation. A very successful plantation. Only a few people know John’s true identity, though. As far as the freed slaves go, no one knows. Anthony and John haven’t heard from any of them for years. But, I think, anyone can assume that they’re eternally grateful.

Thursday, April 23, 2009

The WASL Ways: Thursday

Hi all!

I'm done with the WASL! I had my last of it today! Science Part 2. I am all done. I am so happy that I finished. I'm also relieved. Oh yea. Did I mention that I am done with the WASL?! LOL!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

The WASL Ways: Wednesday

Today I took the WASL on the first part of the Science. It was okay. What I mean is that It was easy but sort of difficult. We had two breaks today and, I finished the test after the first break. When I finished the test, I started to read a book by Og Mandino called Return of the Ragpicker. It's a really good book. It's about God, but the way that Og writes it, it sounds like an ordinary book. It's awesome.


P.S. Happy Earth Day!!!!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

The WASL Ways: Tuesday

I had another WASL today: Reading #2. I didn't have any difficulties. In fact, I got finished with it before we had our break! The rest of the time I read my book. It's written by John Edward. He's an amazing medium/physic dude. I would totally be ecstatic if I could meet him!

Thursday, April 16, 2009

The WASL Ways: Thursday

Today was my last WASL day for this week. I had to do the first Section of the Reading. It was fairly easy. I had one question that was bothering me, but I soon figured it out.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

The WASL Ways: Wednesday

Today was my second day of the WASL. It was the second and last part of the Math. Except that I couldn't use tools: ruler, calculators, etc. There was one problem that I got caught up on, but I figured it out eventually. I am now done with the Math part of the WASL.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

The WASL Ways: Tuesday

Today was my first WASL Testing Day. I had to do the Math #1. I was able to use tools. Like, a calculator, ruler, etc. This first Math Section had 21 questions and we had a little over 2 hours to finish. If you didn't finish, you went to Overflow. I found it very easy, but a really crappy part was that I had a splitting headache. It sucked. But, other than that, it was easy.

Monday, April 13, 2009

The Death Hold of Darkness

This is a writing that I wrote on Sunday night. I got the inspiration from one of my friends poems. Here it is:

The Death Hold of Darkness

Pulse Quickening
Breathing Labored
Feet Pounding
Sounds Echoing
Metal Gleaming
Wound Opening
Screams Deafening
Blood Pulsing
Red Rivers
Pulse Slowing
Breathing Shallow
Darkness Crashing
Fading...
Fading...
Fading...
Gone

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Happy Easter!!!!

Hello everyone!

Just wanted to say Happy Easter!

Saturday, April 11, 2009

WASL Prep: Thursday and Friday

Sorry I'm a little behind. On Thursday and Friday I had more WASL Prep. On Thursday, in Science, we worked on listing materials and writing the procedure for a scientific investigation. My friend and I couldn't get math help because our math teacher left at lunch time. And in Language Arts, we were going to go over that reading comprehension, but we ran out of class time.

On Friday, we continued to work on the materials and the procedure for Science. That's about all I got to do for WASL Prep, because I got to go on my third attendance trip to a skating rink! I missed most of Math, all of Art, all of Language Arts, and all of Gym! I left school at 11:45am and didn't get back until school ended at 3:15pm!

This weekend though, I'm practicing some math items that I don't get: fractions, decimals, & percents.

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

WASL Prep: Wednesday

Well, I did more WASL Prep today. In Science, we worked on writing conclusions. There are four parts to a conclusion: 1.)= Answer investigative question. 2and3.)= Support using high and low data. 4.)= Tell the difference between the high and low data. My friend and I got help on some math items during lunch today. And in Language Arts, we did a reading comprehension to help get ready for the WASL.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

WASL Prep: Tuesday

Today at school, I started my WASL Prep. In Science, we worked on finding the Manipulative Variable and the Responding Variable in investigative questions. We also practiced writing our own investigative questions. Another thing we practiced was writing hypothesis. During lunch, my friend and I got some help on some math. Last but not least, in Language Arts, we talked about the guidelines for the reading part of the WASL. We'll be doing WASL Prep for the rest of the week, because the WASL starts next Tuesday. I don't really like this test, but it helps to improve our learning skills.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Back to School

I have been on Spring Break this past week. But I go back to school on the 6th. Then, a couple weeks after I get back, I will be taking the WASL. The WASL is Washington State's form of testing. That stands for: Washington Assessment for Student Learning. I have testing in Math, Reading, and Science this year. I don't have any Writing this year.

Friday, April 3, 2009

Books Galore

Hello everyone!

Last Tuesday, I went to my local library and checked out nine books. Nine! I have until April 14th to return the books. I am on my sixth book. The ones that are in Italics are books that I have read, and the ones in Bold are the books I haven't read. Here are the titles:

#1=Crispin:The Cross of Lead; By:Avi
#2=The Case of the Bizarre Bouquet-An Enola Holmes Mystery; By:Nancy Springer
#3=Rowan and the Travelers, book 2; By:Emily Rodda
#4=Rowan and the Keeper of the Crystal, book 3; By:Emily Rodda
#5=Wolf Brother-Chronicles of Ancient Darkness; By:Michelle Paver

#6=The Green Glass Sea; By:Ellen Klages
#7=The Wolving Time; By:Patrick Jennings
#8=Thin Wood Walls; By:David Patneaude
#9=Adeline Falling Star; By:Mary Pope Osborne

Well, those are the books that I checked out. Also, I did my 100th post yesterday!

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Westward journal #12

I forgot one of my westward journals. I left out number 12! So, here it is:

7-9-1820

Dear journal,

We’ve been traveling in hot wasteland for awhile now. But then we came to Sweetwater River. There is a slight breeze and it feels good. The river water was delicious. There is lush green grass for the animals. We set up a campfire for dinner. We had some cornbread with molasses. We also had some of the leftover jerky. It was all so good. I went to sleep feeling content. But later in the night, I woke up to hear screaming. I looked outside of the wagon and saw that Indians were attacking our camp. Father and the other men went to fight back. It sort of worked. Many men got killed, but not father thank God. I couldn’t stand it any more. I crawled back into the wagon and plugged my ears. I fell asleep to the serenade of screaming. In the morning, we buried the bodies that were strewn all over the ground. There were many grave markers.
Maggie, 9 years old

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

The Fear

Although this is the name of one of Lily Allen's songs, it has nothing to do with music. I got my inspiration for this story from a friend. I know that some of you might not understand the meaning of this story. It's okay if you don't. I'll understand. Without further ado, here is the story.

The Fear


It’s the fear of: finding beer bottles when you get home from school.

It’s the fear of: knowing that the hat can come off at any moment.

It’s the fear of: knowing that the yelling is all you’ve ever known.

It’s the fear of: hearing the voice cutting through the night.

It’s the fear of: seeing those glinting eyes in the darkness.

It’s the fear of: hearing the lash, when you didn’t do anything wrong.

It’s the fear of: seeing the veins pulsing out of the neck.

It’s the fear of: feeling the blood well up from the welts.

It’s the fear of: knowing that when you cry, it will only make things worse.

It’s the fear of: finally telling someone you trust what’s going on, that they won’t believe you.

Monday, March 30, 2009

New Story Coming Soon

Hello all!

Remember all those "Westward journal entries" that I did? Well, a really brilliant thought hit me. Why not bring the story up to present times? See, my idea is this: Rachel is thirteen years old, and she's a bit rebellious towards her mom. They get into a lot of fights. Quite often actually. The only place that Rachel feels good, is in the attic, looking at all the junk. But one day, Rachel decides to snoop around. And when she does that, she finds Maggie's journal. Rachel eventually figures out that she's related to Maggie, but she doesn't know how. When Rachel starts flipping through the journal, she sees a bunch of names of places that she's never seen or heard of before. Coincidentally, the next day at school, her history class starts learning about the Oregon Trail.

Cool huh? There's a few details that I still need to figure out. Tell me what you think.

Saturday, March 28, 2009

I ain't got nothin'

I'm stuck. I don't have anything to say. Brains empty. I was going to do a post with a really pretty spring flower that I found on the internet, but the picture is acting screwy. Oh well. And, there's a story that I want to post on here, but it is at school. I started typing it at school, but then I remembered that I have a computer at home. Duh! So, now I have to take my thumb-drive to school, get the story, and bring it back home. I haven't done it yet, but I will!

Thursday, March 19, 2009

Revolutionary Essay

This is another History essay that I wrote. It's about the Revolution and the major events that made it happen. My teacher said that we could put it in a speech form, so that's what I did. Here it is:


Welcome. I’m giving this speech today because I am persuading you that a revolution is necessary. It’s necessary because of the Stamp Act of 1765, the Intolerable Acts of 1774, and the Battle of Lexington and Concord of 1775.

My first topic is the Stamp Act of 1765. The British Parliament passed the Stamp Act in 1765 and it created havoc among the colonists. This placed stamps on every paper item to prove that you paid your taxes; whether it was playing cards, wills, or diplomas. A local group of colonists got really angry with the British and formed together and called themselves the Sons of Liberty. The Sons of Liberty would start riots in their wake. And whenever tax collectors came around, the Sons of Liberty would go after them, tar them, feather them, and force them to drink scalding hot tea.

My second point of discussion is the Intolerable Acts of 1774. Properly known as the Quartering Act, the Act closed down the Boston Harbor and only allowed one town meeting a year. The colonists, I included, thought that the Quartering Act was very severe; hence the name ‘Intolerable’. The British King thought he was punishing us for our behavior, but truthfully, it brought us colonists together.

Finally, my final and possibly most important topic: during the year of 1775, the Battle of Lexington and Concord occurred. During that time, General Thomas Gage and his British troops marched into Lexington for a raid on weapons. A group of brave Militiamen attacked, but sadly most of them were killed; they were outnumbered. The British continued their march into Concord for more weapons. Another group of Militiamen attacked; this time the British troops were outnumbered. One, which has not been determined, fired the first shot heard around the world. The first shot that started the revolution.

So, fellow colonists. I have given you three prime and vital topics on why we should have a revolution: the Stamp Act of 1765, the Intolerable Acts of 1774, and the Battle of Lexington and Concord of 1775. Now, we have to decide. Do we want to go into a revolution? Do we want to stay the same? Do we want to declare our Independence from Britain? Remember, it’s up to us.




Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Essay

This is an essay that I wrote in my History class a couple of weeks ago. I like this essay and I hope you do too! Here it is:


More often that not, when people move to solve or to get away from problems, more problems are often created in the process. Sometimes though, people don’t move by their own choice. They are sometimes persuaded or forced out of their comfort zones. But, moving isn’t the only problem, diseases and sickness happen also.

Throughout history, Native Americans have been kicked off their lands. In 1828, President Jackson took a firm stand on the fate of the Indians. Native American tribes such as The Creek, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Cherokee, and Seminole were some of the tribes that had to move. President Jackson urged the Government to set aside land beyond the Mississippi River. They did and either persuaded or forced the tribes out. Most went without trouble, but the Cherokee stood their ground. In the end though, the Cherokee were forced off their land. They trekked a long journey over two thousand miles to get to their new home. This journey became known as the Trail of Tears.

Another reason to move would be the Gold Rush. In 1848, John Sutter was building a sawmill on the American River north of Sacramento, California, when Sutter’s hire, James Marshall found some gold. It didn’t stay a secret for long though. Soon, over 80,000 came to California in prospect of finding gold. Very few people actually struck it rich. The ones who did, were lucky. The unlucky ones are a different. People died or didn’t find gold at all. Murders and robberies often ruled in the camps because all the greed made most lives a living hell.

Missionaries are yet another reason for moving. In 1836, Marcus and Narcissa Whitman traveled a seven month journey to Oregon to start a missionary. They built their missionary near the Columbia River with the Cayuse Indians. In 1840, more and more white settlers’ came onto Cayuse land. As they spread out, disease struck out to both the whites and the Cayuse. Many Cayuse died. When a measles outbreak from the whites spread to the Cayuse, many Cayuse children died. The Cayuse got angry, blamed the whites, and murdered the Whitman’s and twelve others.

As you can see, moving away to solve problems, often creates more problems. Forced off your land, dying, murders, robberies, diseases, sickness. That just isn’t right. The Cherokee were forced off their land, gold miners murdered and robbed, and the Whitman’s murdered because the Cayuse blamed the sickness on them. Would you move away from problems and then run into these? Or would you rather stay with your original problems and try to fix them? It’s your choice.


Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Be a Ghost

This is a story that I wrote after hearing a song on the radio. There were only three words that captured my attention: be a ghost. So, I used my growing writing talents and wrote this story!

P.S. Happy St. Patty's Day!

Be a Ghost

Have you ever wanted to be a ghost? Well, I don’t mean that literally though. Because then that would mean you would have to be dead. Right? I’m being serious now. Have you really ever wanted to be a ghost? I know that I have. Being a ghost, or spirit (if that’s what you prefer) would be magical. Just letting your mind drop into nothingness and your being float away would be magnificent. Feeling as if you could drift to the sky, light as a feather, no weights weighing you down would be extraordinary. Moving from place to place with lightning like speed would be splendid. Walking through walls would be brilliant. But, keep in mind though, that being a ghost isn’t always magical, magnificent, extraordinary, splendid, or brilliant. It can be torturous and horrible too. You can see people, but they can’t see you. How would you feel if saw loved ones, but they couldn’t see you? And when you speak out, they can’t hear you. How would you feel then? So, now it is time for you to choose. Do you want to be a ghost and live these wonderful qualities? Or would you want to be a ghost to live these horrid things and feel haunted? But, it’s your choice. Go ahead. Be a ghost.

Sunday, March 15, 2009

My westward journal #20

Forgot to mention that yesterday was pi-day. See, the date was 3/14 and the first three numbers of pi are... 3.14!

Remember at my very first post of the westward journals that I was going to have 20 journal entries in total? Well, I kept my word! So here it is, number 20!:


9-3-1820

Dear journal,

It’s now September and we’ve been so busy these last couple of weeks. Father left with Jasper’s father to the nearest fort in Oregon to get the cabin supplies for the both of our families. They both came back safely though. And father brought fresh food back for mother! She was so happy! I have sent many letters to family back home. But, it’s going to take a while for me to get replies back. We have roughly a month and a half to get our cabin built. It’s coming along nicely though. It won’t be a permanent fixture. The cabin is just something to get us through the winter. I’m finally home. In Oregon. Where I belong.

Maggie, 10 years old

Saturday, March 14, 2009

My westward journal #19

8-20-1820

Dear journal,

We are in Oregon! We have finally reached our destination at last! It is amazingly beautiful and breathtaking. There are not really any words to describe it. Well, maybe a few: Brilliant, breathtaking, amazing. I have been waiting a long time for this day and it’s everything that my father expected! Now that we are here, we have big plans. First of all, father is planning to go to the nearest fort in Oregon to buy supplies to build a small cabin for him, mother, and myself. Jasper’s father is planning to do the same for his family. Second of all, mother wants more fresh food, but I don’t know where she’ll get that. I’m just glad we’re finally here! In Oregon!

Maggie, 10 years old

Thursday, March 12, 2009

My westward journal #18

8-15-1820

Dear journal,

Right now, we have come to a very vital decision. Either we raft down the Columbia River or go take the toll road. Father opted to take the toll road and everyone else quickly followed suit. The toll road is called Barlow Road and it cost us money, but it wasn’t that expensive. The bad thing about Barlow Road is that it’s really rocky and steep and dangerous. Before we started down, we got out the rope we used last time we went down a steep hill. It took us awhile to get down, but we all made it. When we got down tot the bottom, we all stopped to rest. We could see Mt. Hood in the background, and it was beautiful. Some of our wagon train, though, decided that they would stay here. I didn’t mind, because Jasper’s family wasn’t one of the ones to stay.

Maggie, 10 years old

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

My westward journal #17

8-10-1820

Dear journal,

We are almost there! Yay! The surroundings are beautiful. Our wagon train is now in a lush valley with a lot of berries. Berries! Berries! Berries! I’m so excited! I haven’t had berries in a long time. Also, the weather is perfect. It’s not to hot, and not to cold either! Right now, the sun is high in the sky and there’s a breeze blowing. I’m excited to pick some berries! I hope they are blackberries. I went to pick some with Jasper and guess what?! They were blackberries! They were so good! Father and some of the other men decided that we are to stay here for a couple of days to rest and pick a lot more berries! Yay!

Maggie, 10 years old

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

My westward journal #16

8-5-1820

Dear journal,

I’m still tired and still bored. We’ve been traveling along the Snake River plain for awhile now. But there are trees. Trees! The trees offer shade which is good because it’s so hot. We decided that we were going to stay here for a couple of days. We are actually staying quite near Fort Boise. Father and some of the other men went to see if it was worth it. It turned out that it was worth it. Most of the wagons needed some kind of repair or another, so we took them into Fort Boise. I was glad that we were staying here for awhile because all those wagon repairs took a long time to complete.

Maggie, 10 years old

Monday, March 9, 2009

My westward journal #15

8-1-1820

Dear journal,

It’s now August. I don’t know how far we’ve traveled or how much farther we have to go. I lost track. Right know, our wagon train is at Fort Hall. It doesn’t look very nice. But, they’re selling really good but expensive stuff. Vegetables and fruit. I have not had any of this since the start of this trip! I’m so excited! Both mother and father bought some carrots and apples. Apples! Yay! I haven’t had apples in a long time. After my parents bought the produce, I took two apples, one for me and one for Jasper. He hasn’t had any apples in awhile either! When we were done with the apples, I went to the mail place to see if I got anything. I didn’t. Oh well.

Maggie, 10 years old

Sunday, March 8, 2009

My westward journal #14

7-20-1820

Dear journal,

I’m tired and bored. It’s hot, but there’s a breeze, so it’s okay. We have come across Steamboat Springs. It’s an opening in a tock and hot mineral water shoots out of it, making a high pitched whistle sound. We stopped near it, but we didn’t want to camp by it. The water smells funny. I wanted to try some of it, and when I did, I burned my tongue! And the water tastes like metal! Nasty! When I told my mother, she got upset. “Maggie! What on Earth were you thinking? That water is-” My father interrupted her. “Abby, Maggie was just curious.” My mother turned on him. “John, that water is hot. Super hot. And I don’t want anyone going near it!” Both father and I nodded quietly. We promised we wouldn’t go anywhere near the water again.

Maggie, 10 years old

Saturday, March 7, 2009

My westward journal #13

7-11-1820

Dear journal,

I’m so excited today! It’s my birthday! I’m ten years old today. I’m also excited for another reason. We’re starting to cross the Continental Divide. I thought it was going to be really scary but, it was such a gradual climb I barely noticed. It was supposed to be a short travel, but our oxen teams were tired and slow so it took awhile longer than usual. As we were crossing, father told me it was the start of Oregon Country! Oregon! Oregon! Oregon! We’re almost there! I can feel it in the air, in the winds, everywhere! I can even smell it! Well, maybe I can’t smell it, but there’s this weird feeling deep inside me. I can’t believe I’m almost in Oregon! Me, Maggie, a girl of ten years, in the start of the Oregon Country! Yay! Hooray!

Maggie, 10 years old

Friday, March 6, 2009

My westward journal #12

7-9-1820

Dear journal,

We’ve been traveling in hot wasteland for awhile now. But then we came to Sweetwater River. There is a slight breeze and it feels good. The river water was delicious. There is lush green grass for the animals. We set up a campfire for dinner. We had some cornbread with molasses. We also had some of the leftover jerky. It was all so good. I went to sleep feeling content. But later in the night, I woke up to hear screaming. I looked outside of the wagon and saw that Indians were attacking our camp. Father and the other men went to fight back. It sort of worked. Many men got killed, but not father thank God. I couldn’t stand it any more. I crawled back into the wagon and plugged my ears. I fell asleep to the serenade of screaming. In the morning, we buried the bodies that were strewn all over the ground. There were many grave markers.

Maggie, 9 years old

Thursday, March 5, 2009

My westward journal #11

7-4-1820

Dear journal,

It’s July now. It’s amazing how fast time has gone buy! We’ve made our way to Independence Rock for a celebration. It’s the fourth of July! Independence Rock is huge and looks like a whale! When we stopped to celebrate, I was tired, so I took a small nap. I awoke to the sounds of our celebration. There was music and laughter and the delicious smell of food. I looked around for Jasper. He caught my eye and we jumped up and down. I got hungry so we went to go eat. The food was extremely good. As I was eating, I looked at the whale rock and noticed a bunch of names on the rock. “Jasper. Look at the rock! There’s a bunch of names on it. Let’s go carve ours!” We raced to the rock and carved our names. After that, we went back to our food. The dancing started when everyone was done eating. Jasper and I joined up and started dancing! Even my parents joined the fun! It was exciting!

Maggie, 9 years old

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

My westward journal #10

4-17-1820

Dear journal,

We arrived at Fort Laramie at first light. We stayed inside our wagons until the sun rose further in the sky. Around noon, we all made our way out of our wagons to buy supplies. I bought another pencil and Jasper bought a journal of his own! I don’t know what my parents bought, but I know it was necessities. There was water on both sides of the Fort, so our whole wagon train filled their cases. It tasted delicious, but Jasper told me it tasted like regular water. So, maybe it tasted extra good because I was super thirsty! After I ate my lunch, I went to look around Fort Laramie. It looked like any other Fort to me.

Maggie, 9 years old

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

My westward journal #9

Before I put in my ninth westward journal entry, I just want to say that today is... Square Root Day! The date is 3/3/09. See, when you multiply 3 by 3 you get... 9!


4-16-1820

Dear journal,

When we left the rock that looked like a chimney, I knew it was going to be another hot day. It was cool in the early morning, but when the sun rose high in the sky, it turned hot. We are slowly making our way across the south side of the Platte River. It’s difficult but not extremely hard. I went to find father to ask if we could stop to eat. At first he said no, but then his stomach rumbled and he then said yes. When we stopped and looked around, we noticed that there wasn’t any wood. Only buffalo chips. Father looked at me and said “Maggie, I want you and Jasper to collect a lot of those chips.” I opened my mouth to protest but I sighed and turned away. After we were all comfortable with food in our stomachs, I got sleepy. I crawled into the wagon and quickly fell asleep. I was jolted awake by our wagon as we continued into the unknown.

Maggie, 9 years old

Monday, March 2, 2009

My westward journal #8

4-15-1820

Dear journal,

It is so hot and uncomfortable on the trail. I can’t stand the heat and my mother is making me wear a bonnet! We’ve been traveling a long time so far and I’m bored. I went to find Jasper so we could do something. After we were done playing, I went back to my wagon. I was looking on the horizon for something to do. I noticed a rock formation sticking out of the ground. I looked like a chimney! I looked at it closer and yelled out. My mother came and looked at it. She didn’t pay attention to that though. She did pay attention to my neck. All those boils. Ewww! Mother started washing my neck and it was painful. But under her soothing strokes, I soon fell asleep.

Maggie, 9 years old

Sunday, March 1, 2009

My westward journal #7

4-14-1820

Dear journal,

The lush green surroundings turned into brown ugliness. It is so hot that my lips were starting to crack. My father told me to put some of the axle grease onto my lips. It was gross, but it helped. We were walking for a couple hours when we noticed a rock formation that looked like a jail or courthouse or something. Everyone was wary of it, so we steered clear of it. We kept walking for awhile when father made us stop. We unhitched the oxen and let them eat. We ate too, and I felt better. I fell asleep on the bench of the wagon. I woke up to hear loud cracks and booms. I saw brilliant flashes of light and realized it was lightning. The animals were scared, but we calmed them down. The storm lasted awhile and Jasper and I danced in the rain while it fell.

Maggie, 9 years old

Friday, February 27, 2009

My westward journal #6

4-13-1820

Dear journal,

Before the light was even up, we hitched the oxen teams to every wagon and we took into the unknown. A few hours later, we reached Ash Hollow. Like a silent signal, every wagon stopped. Everybody started trickling out of their wagons to look down the hill. I went to stand by father. He ran his hand through his ruffled hair and sighed. “Okay folks. We are going to have to get down there. We need rope. Lots of it. And make sure they’re thick and strong too.” Father finished speaking and everyone started getting rope. With all the rope gathered and put in a pile, it looked like a small mountain. Soon, people started tying ropes anywhere they could. Father looked at me. “When it’s our turn, your mother is going to drive the wagon. I want you to stay inside the wagon while you go down. I’m going to stay up here and help the other wagons get down. Do you understand that? Maggie?” I nodded. The first wagon started its decent. Five hours later, all wagons were accounted for. We looked around the hollow, and noticed it was full of ash trees, hence the name ‘Ash Hollow’. There was a stream for water, washing clothes, and washing dishes. We built a campfire and had our lunch. Father and the other men got together and decided that we were going to stay here for a few days. This was a good place. I liked it here. Would Oregon look like this?

Maggie, 9 years old

Thursday, February 26, 2009

My westward journal #5

4-12-1820

Dear journal,

We’ve had a rough journey so far. We had been traveling for a few hours when my father shouted. I saw dozens of eyes follow the direction my father pointed. I squinted my eyes and I saw that the sign said Fort Kearney. I gave a shout for joy and leaped off the wagon. I ran around looking for Jasper. I found him jumping up and down like I was. He caught my arm and we jumped up and down some more. I was so caught up in my mini celebration, I didn’t here my name get called until the last minute. “Maggie! Come over here this minute!” I backed away from Jasper and ran back to my parents. I got back on the wagon just as we entered Fort Kearney. I looked around at the Fort and I smelled food. A few hours after we arrived, I was comfortably full and well rested. I walked around with Jasper looking for stuff to buy. I finally found some new pencils and a new notepad. I sent a few letters to family back home. I will miss this place.

Maggie, 9 years old

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

My westward journal #4

4-10-1820

Dear journal,

We crossed the Kansas River today. It was deep and swirly. We crossed the river using the Pappan Ferry. My family paid four dollars and thirty cents to cross the river. Once we got to the middle, a little girl that was four years old fell off her wagon into the river. She went under and never came up. Her mother screamed, “Annie!” Her mother tried to jump in the river to save her little girl, but her husband held her back. After seeing Annie drown, I stayed close to either mother or father. During the rest of the rest of the crossing, my legs were shaking uncontrollably. After our wagon train got to the other side we stopped for lunch. The men unhitched the oxen teams while the girls helped prepare the food. After a rushed meal of cornbread, we hitched the oxen back on the wagon. We started up again and I once again fell asleep against father’s shoulders.

Maggie, 9 years old

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

My westward journal #3

4-9-1820

Dear journal,

Our first night of travel was tricky. Our wagon train had to cross the Blue River. It was difficult, but nobody was doubtful. I stayed with mother and father while we crossed the river. I was a little frightened. While each wagon crossed carefully, we were preparing our wagon for the crossing. I was becoming very sleepy, and I slumped against fathers shoulders. When I woke up the morning, the sun was shining brightly. I looked around our camp and everything was very quiet. I got off the seat and looked for my parents. Before long, I heard a piercing scream. I ran toward the noise, and almost bumped into father. I looked at him and asked what was wrong. “Oh, Maggie.” He sighed. “Earlier this morning, a few men went to search for roots and such. One of the men was bitten by a rattlesnake. He died just now.” I felt tears stinging my eyes as I asked about the scream. It was his wife. I went back to the wagon and cried. It was so sad. How many more people would we lose? Would it ever be mother or father? Or Jasper?

Maggie, 9 years old

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

My westward journal #2

Dear journal,

This morning my father, mother, and myself left for Independence. In my schoolbag, I have brought a notepad (the one I’m writing in right now), a pencil, a small mirror, a bunch of hair ribbons, and two small hairbrushes. I haven’t a clue on what my parents have brought, but I know it’s minimal. Once we got to Independence, my father bought a wagon and oxen team of four. We hitched the oxen team to the wagon and loaded our things into the wagon. Before we took off with a group of people we became friends with, I looked around the town. The buildings didn’t look very sturdy, like they were going to collapse any minute. The road was dirt and every time someone walked along it, they kicked up little puffs of dust. I feel weird in this town. Different. And I don’t know why. Before long, we fed and watered the oxen and took off with our little wagon train into the unknown. I’m not expecting anything good to come of this trip. But, I do have a new friend! He’s my age and his name is Jasper. He’s a good friend too and he’s funny.

Maggie, 9 years old

Sunday, February 15, 2009

My westward journal #1

This is an assignment that I have to do in my History class at school. We created a family that was going to Oregon. In my westward journal, the mom is 24 years old and her name is Abby. The dad is 25 years old and his name is John. Their daughters name is Maggie and she’s 9 years old. I’m writing this journal from Maggie’s perspective. The year is 1820.


4-7-1820

Dear journal,

When I woke up this morning, I could smell bacon and eggs. It was a bright morning and I went downstairs feeling happy. All that changed. I noticed the look on mothers face. Her lips were in a tight mashed line, and her face was white. I then stole a quick look at my father. He caught my eyes. “Oh Maggie. Good, you’re up. There’s something I need to tell you. We’re moving to Oregon.” I quickly became the same person as my mother. I looked at father head on. “Okay. What shall I bring?” My voice was shaking. Father told me I could fill my schoolbag with everything that could fit. I got out of the kitchen and went to pack my things. My whole body was shaking. The tears were uncontrollable now. They started streaming down my face. I threw everything that I owned into that schoolbag. I set it down on my bed and walked downstairs again and asked when we were to leave. I learned that it was tomorrow. I left the house and said goodbye to my friends early. Would I ever see them again? Would Oregon be what my father is expecting?

Maggie, 9 years old

Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Don't lose patience!!!!

I haven't had anything interesting to write in a while, so that's why I've been putting up the stories that I've written. The story I am working on now is called 'The Goodbye Letter'. It sounds sad, but trust me it's not. When I am done with the story, I'll post it, but for now, don't lose patience!!!!

Saturday, January 24, 2009

The Best Christmas Ever

Four years ago, in December of 2005, a new family moved into the neighborhood a couple houses down from my family. A couple of weeks before Christmas, we went over to their house with a plate of goodies. They welcomed us in, and I became fast friends with everybody, especially Tana. In fact, our first “play-date” was her teaching me how to play Halo! You know, the video game? As the New Year was approaching, Tana and I became good friends. Through-out the months, Tana and I became closer, almost like sisters.

During the summer of 2006, my life was preparing for a change that I wasn’t sure I was able to handle; I had never experienced it before. Early on in the summer, Tana told me that she was moving to South Carolina to live with her dad and step-mom. When I heard that it felt as if my heart turned into stone. On July 14, 2006, Tana and I said goodbye. We tried to keep contact with each other but it was very difficult. As 2006 turned into 2007, I was surprised to hear that Tana, her dad, and her step-mom had moved to Hawaii.

You see Tana’s dad is in the military and they had to move bases. As 2007 came closer to ending, I was also surprised to hear that Tana was coming home for a visit. But as 2007 ended, and 2008 was near its end, Tana still hadn’t come home. In November of 2008, I learned that Tana was coming in December. I didn’t know when exactly, but I didn’t care! I was happy! So when she surprised me at my front door on Christmas Eve day, I nearly fainted.

Tana told me that she had to leave on January seventh, but on the morning of, she called me and said she was staying, and would be going to school with me in a couple of weeks! I was speechless. Literally. Now I’m happy as a clam that she’s with me again. Wouldn’t you be?




This picture is of both of us and was taken the summer that she left.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Inauguration

Inauguration Day is a very important day in the U.S. and I am very glad to know that it was Barack Obama and not anyone else. But, that's just my opinion. So let us rejoice in the fact that today was very special!!!!

Tuesday, January 13, 2009

The Soul

I wrote this story last summer after I read an incredible book. I borrowed some of the characters names and the places, but I changed them around a bit. So here's the story for all to enjoy!


Me, Resa, being thirteen, and my brother, Farid, being fifteen, I knew we were in a dire situation. Ever since we left our house in Ombra, something kept pulling at my chest. Dark. Mistrustful. Fear? No, it wasn’t fear. It had no name. The reason my brother and I left was simple. We just did. After our parents died, we kept to our little house, Farid took care of his garden, and me, well, I helped him. One day I said to Farid, “We have to leave.” He looked at me with anguish in his voice, “I know.” So, that was it. We packed the rest of our food, some things from Farid’s garden, and some extra seeds. The next night at midnight Farid and I set out on our journey.


Four hours later, we were wandering through The Wayless Woods. Only traveling at night, Farid and I trekked aimlessly through the Woods. Three nights later, we stumbled across a stream. We were so exhausted, we decided to just sleep against the tree trunks. The warm sun and chirping birds woke me up. Our rule was that whoever was up first made breakfast. So, I made breakfast. My noise must’ve woken up Farid because I heard grunts. After we ate, Farid told me we should get going. I was proud of Farid. I knew he would make some kind of leader one day.


Adderface saw this too, but he didn’t like people who could rise above him. I found that out much later. Around noon, we came across a clearing. Farid let out a cry and I stood there gaping. In the clearing stood a small house and a small patch of land for a garden. It looked just like our house. In Ombra. Farid and I looked at each other and ran toward it. Surprisingly, it was the same. Later that night Farid planted his seeds. He went through the soil thoroughly. On an impulse he said, “This land will make my soul rich.” I looked at Farid and I said, “Why’d you say that?” He looked at me with a smile. “I don’t know Resa. It just sounded good.”


That became his ritual at night. Unaware to Farid and me, Adderface was watching us. Like me, Adderface saw Farid’s qualities. One night completely oblivious to us, Adderface was watching. His watching was at the wrong place at the wrong time, because at the moment, Adderface heard Farid’s ritual. But, he misunderstood it. He thought my brother said “This land will make me rich.” I found out later that that was very bad. Of course, I did not know that Adderface was talking to himself about us. “The boy has good qualities, but I don’t like other people with qualities. I shall walk into their camp tomorrow. And I shall tell the boy and the girl to come with me willingly. If they don’t, that’s very bad. I will give them twenty-four hours to decide.”


With that, Adderface walked off. The next day around noon, Farid and I were working on his garden when a tall dark clad figure walked into the clearing. Immediately, I felt something dark about him His face looked like a snake’s so I called him Adderface. He told us that he’d been watching our every move. He’d also said that he wanted us to come with him willingly. He said he would come back for us the next day so he could hear our decisions. Farid and I talked late into the night. He told me, “Resa, I think we should go.” I didn’t want to go, but deep down, I knew he was right. Adderface arrived the next day and I told him we were willing to go. It was a slow pace, not a harsh one, like my brother and I thought.


Four, maybe five days later, we arrived at Adderface’s home. Hours later, Farid and I were full of food and ready for bed. I slept peacefully that night. The next morning Farid and I helped Adderface. His home wasn’t a house exactly. It was a castle. A castle so dark in color, that I called The Castle of Night. Three to four months passed so fast, that I hardly noticed. It was then that my brother and I found that Adderface had other kids in his castle. I knew that that was not good because they acted strange. They scared me. A couple nights later, I told Farid that we had to leave. He looked at me with sad eyes and replied, “I know, Resa. I know.” The night after we planned our escape.


Our escape worked. We were running to our house. Not the one in The Wayless Woods, but the one in Ombra. Adderface never searched for us and even if he did, he never found us. My brother always laughed and smiled, so I always called him my Laughing Prince. Me, Resa, being an old lady now, and my brother, Farid, being gone, I knew this would have to end sometime. Goodbye, Farid. I will never forget you. My brother. My Laughing Prince.

Saturday, January 10, 2009

My snow days

The very first school cancellations I had were December 18 and 19. Then I had Winter Break until January 5. But, The 5th was canceled so I headed to school on Tuesday. Then I had two more snow days. On the 7th and 8th school was canceled yet again! So, I went to school on Friday, the 9th. It felt normal. So now it's Saturday and I'm tired of the school closures. Can anybody agree with me?

Thursday, January 1, 2009

Bored on New Years

Hello everyone!

Happy New Year! I'm looking forward to spending time with the year of '09! I have a feeling that 2009 will be a good year for me. What about you?

I am also very bored. I'm spending my day mostly watching a show on Disney Channel called "Wizards of Waverly Place" They're having a marathon. I'm also reading Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer (for the second time) and I made a loaf of bread in the bread machine and later my family and I are going to play a game! This is what I do to pass the time at my house! I called my friend but I had to leave a message. Oh well.

I hope you all had a good Christmas and a good New Year!